Adventuring the: Love Story

pihia and touranga 063-001

Our first real date hiking mount maunganui

Last week I wrote about one of the worst things in my life and it was extremely difficult for me. Right after I finished I decided that this week would be about one of the best things that has happened to me. And how fitting being the day after valentine’s day. (I actually didn’t even know!) So without further adieu here is my love story.

Valentines day 2013  I landed in Auckland New Zealand alone, with no idea what the future had in store for me. I knew I was going to have the best time of my life in New Zealand, but I did not know to what extent. When I think about it, it really is like a cheesy movie. Two weeks into my trip I go up North to go sky diving. The six-hour bus ride up there was TERRIBLE! There was girls in the seat behind me doing cocaine the whole time, a bunch of extremely obnoxious drunk people a few rows behind and next to me a very large man, who smelt rather bad and a fishing pol between his legs that kept hitting me. Six hours. So on the way back I decided that I was going to have a better ride home. I get on the bus and I see this really cute guy. There’s only a few people on the bus so I felt silly sitting right next to him, so I sat across from him. Half of the ride I spent trying to get him to catch me looking at him, but not in a creepy stalker way. Three hours in we have a rest stop and I see that he was smoking! I smoked when I was younger but when I realised how stupid it was I quit. I contemplated for a while if I should talk to him or not because of that, but something inside me said just go for it. I’m so thankful I did. The next three hours we talked non stop. When we arrived back in Auckland we were starving so we went to Burger King. I guess you could say that was our first date… Classy eh? I asked him if he wanted to hangout again. I had heard of some people going to a party the next day. He said sure and then we went out separate ways for the night. The next day my friend and I went to meet him, but we were really late. I was almost at the club and I get a call from him saying “where are you, I’ve been waiting for an hour, I’m leaving.” I was so close, I told him to just wait two more minutes, and then BAM I turn the corner and run right into him!  What are the chances. That was sign number one that we were ment to be. I missed my last train home, and all the hotel were full so he snuck me into his. I remember sitting outside and he wanted to go in to pee, I told him he wasnt allowed unless he kissed me. So he did and that was our first kiss. The next day he was supposed to be going to a different town but we had such a connection. He decided to stay. Problem was, I had a job. So on a whim, I quit and spent another day with him in town. I had borrow clothes  from a girl I met and wash my hair with hand soap because I hadn’t been home in four days. I remember when I was in her room, I thought I lost him, and my heart just sank. I hardly new the guy but the thought of losing him hurt. I forget where he was but I remember him calling me and asking where I was, I could hear that he was feeling the same thing I was.

We have pretty much been together ever sence. We finished backpacking around New Zealand, then backpacked around South East Asia. He asked me to move to Germany with him, so I did for a few months, but went home for six months to get a visa and replenish my savings account. He visited me for 3 months and now we’ve been living together in Germany for a year. unfortunately my Visa expires in April and I have to move. I’m looking for an Au Pair job in Germany or the Netherlands, which would be okay for us, I know it will be hard but we can manage. If I can’t find one, I will have to go back to Canada, which will be a lot harder, but I know we will find a way to make it work.

Leave a Reply

