Adventuring the: Big Move (New Zealand)

Today I’m going to take you on a bit of a time travel journey. This is the first post of many about my adventure in New Zealand. Three years ago, 19 year old me decided that I needed to leave this Island that I had called home for 13 years. I always knew that I wanted to travel, but after going to Mexico and experiencing culture shock, I KNEW it was something I had to do.

     

I was originally planning on going to Thailand with a friend, but that didn’t work out. I  already had some money saved up and still wanted to go, but I didn’t feel comfortable going to Thailand alone. So I started doing some research and decided that New Zealand was the place for me to be. Upon further research and chatting with people who had visited NZ before, I knew that this was what I like to call my “soul country”. I can relate to everything about this country from the diverse landscape, beautiful ocean, and laid back island mentality. It was like my hometown, just better and more vibrant. I had no real expectations of what my adventure was going to be like. I just knew I was going to love it there and that I needed to leave Victoria. After a year of saving and planning I was ready to make this giant move all alone. I was terrified but also ecstatic. My anxiety was crazy. I didn’t really eat or sleep for 3 days prior to my flight, but I pushed through it and I’m so happy I did it. Leaving Victoria was the best decision I have ever made.

I arrived in Auckland, New Zealand in February of 2013. I flew with Fiji Air, and to this day it’s the best flight I’ve ever been on! The staff was so friendly and just went over and beyond to insure you have a good flight. I had a layover in Fiji and it made me want to visit there so badly! As My plane was flying over Auckland I instantly had a good feeling about this place. The ocean was such a gorgeous teal colour. The airport was so lively and colourful and the people were all so friendly and laid back. (Which is not very normal in an airport)

I was saying with a host family who were so incredibly nice! They showed me around town, introduced me to people and even helped me job hunt! I am so grateful I lucked out with such a great family! My first day there my host mom took me rock climbing. There was a place called “Extreme Edge” which was down the road from us. I went quite a few times during my stay and I loved it! I hadn’t gone rock climbing since I was a little kid. There was one part of the course where you had to climb a tower and then jump onto the wall, but I couldn’t for the life of me. I blame my short arm span, but that was probably not actually the case. She also drove me to my job interview for a cafe called Mozaik which I ended up getting! I really liked working there, it was my first serving job, but I was also a barrista and cashier there. I wish that I had spent more time working there but I followed my heart and started travelling with my boyfriend.

     

Rock Climbing: http://www.extremeedge.co.nz/glen-eden/

Mozaik Coffee: http://www.mozaik.co.nz

4 thoughts on “Adventuring the: Big Move (New Zealand)

Leave a Reply

