Adventuring the: Hippy Islands (Hornby)

Many years ago I told myself that I would never say no to an opportunity to travel. For the most part that is still true proving that I have the funds and means to go on whatever adventure awaits. Last month, a friend of mine told me she booked some time off work and had asked me if I would want to go on a trip with her. Of course, naturally being me, I really wanted to! Unfortunately, I had just asked quite a bit of time off, to go to a concert and go to Vancouver to pick up my boyfriend. I told her we would have to wait to see when my days off were and maybe we could swing it. Turned out that I had Tuesday, Wednesday off, so we were going to try to go up then. The biggest problem was that neither of us had a car and we had to drive a few hours up island to catch the last ferry. I also was scheduled to close at my work Monday night which would take away a whole night of camping. Luckily, one of my co-workers traded shifts with me and my friend found someone who would drive us!

So 6pm the two of them picked me up at my house and we started our adventure! We thought “this is such an odd time to be leaving for a trip”. It ended up working out really well! As we were driving the sun started to set, which was amazing! The colours in the sky were stunning, the silhouette of the mountains, and the way the light was shining on the trees! Once we got to the ferry-boat to take us to Denman island, the sun was just going down and man was that stunning! We were so lucky to be on the boat for that. I love the picture I got of the sun setting and the ripples in the water from the boat. It was truly such a great way to start the weekend. The next part was a little more difficult. Now that the sun had gone down and we were finally at our first destination, it was time to put the tent up.. in the dark. We were camping right on the beach, so putting in the tent pegs was a piece of cake! Once the tent was at set up it was time to just relax and enjoy life. We set up blankets on the sandy beach and layed there in silence for quite some time just listening to the ocean as its waves lightly brushed up on shore. Looking up at the sky, thousands of twinkling starts with hardly any light pollution. We even could see a bit of the milky way. I saw the BEST shooting star of my life. I will never forget it. The thing was massive, words could never do it justice. I’m grateful to have shared that moment with mother nature.

The next day I awoke to the sound of waves and the anxious restlessing of my friend at 6am who was eager to start the next day’s adventure. The first thing we saw when we opened the tent was the beautiful sandy beach, the gentle waves of the ocean and the mountains in the distance. We wandered up and down the beach, played with little baby crabs while waiting for our other friend to wake up. A short drive across Denman Island and another 10 minute ferry ride and we were now on Hornby Island!

We met up with another friend who is actually living on Hornby, he directed us to the nearest place to get coffee and then we were off to the beach! My friends and I were a little shocked to see so many butts and old man’s balls. Our friend who lived there neglected to tell us that this was a nudist beach. Mind you we were there pretty early in the day so that’s who was out there. When we went back the next day in the afternoon there were lots of young women, old men and children all running around naked… I’m still not too sure how I feel about this. It’s awesome that people can be free and not care. We actually shouldn’t care. We come into this world naked, it’s who we are and we should never be ashamed of our bodies and feel like we have to hide them. But North America has over sexualized everything. As my friend and I were exploring some rocks a nudist came up to us and asked if we wanted a picture. I just kinda stood there speechless, but my friend spoke up and said sure. So there we were, with this random naked old dude who had my iPhone taking pictures of us. We were both thinking “where do I look”. He was a very nice man and didn’t even really seem to notice he had no clothes on. Now this was truly a unique experience. One that I will never forget.

We also went to a really cool market in the forest! Where I bought a necklace from a guy who I’m pretty sure was an elf. After driving around the small island for a while and exploring we decided to Helliwell Provincial Park. One of the things I love most about the west coast islands is that you have beautiful beaches, but also awesome forests. My friends wanted to go bushwhacking when it started to get dark to my dismay. I was pretty scared, I didn’t want to get stuck in the forest in the dark. Obviously I made it out alive though. Helliwell also had some awesome cliff views, which I had no idea existed on the west coast. Luckily we got to the beach just as the sun was starting to set. Another stunning west coast sunset!

Our last day on Hornby we spent the entire day at the beach. I made a sandcastle and my friend and I drew mandalas in the sand! It was the perfect way to end our trip! I’m so grateful that my friend invited me on this little get away and that I am getting to explore more of the area I was born in.

3 thoughts on “Adventuring the: Hippy Islands (Hornby)

  1. Pingback: Adventuring the: Summer Bucket List | Adventuring the:

Leave a Reply

