Adventuring the: Summer Bucket List


Recently I’ve seen posts of many friends and acquaintances who are travelling or living abroad. As ashamed as I am to admit it, I get ridiculously jealous each time. Travelling is my passion. It’s not just a hobby to me, something to “figure out who I am” or to do for a year after graduating.  It IS what I want to do with my life. I don’t want to have a 9-5 job and travel for two weeks out of the year. I want to immerse myself in as many cultures as possible, live like the locals do and not just see the tourist traps.

After travelling for long periods of time and then having to return home for an unknown amount of time makes me very anxious. Once reading this amazing article on World Of Wanderlust I decided to make the best of my time here. To look at Vancouver Island as I would any new city, with fresh eyes not clouded by the experiences I’ve had here.

So I decided to make a bucket list of things to do this summer while I’m at home.

  1. Visit some of the other Islands. Which I got to do. Check out my post Adventuring the: Hippy Islands.
  2. Explore Vancouver Island. I have also previously written about on Adventuring the: Vancouver Island.
    car
  3. Skinny Dip. Pretty self explanatory. But I I will say this, as someone who is a little afraid of the water this probably wasn’t the best idea. That little bit of fabric makes a difference. I think I would only do it again if it was in a private pool that I knew had no sea monsters.
  4. Concerts. Victoria has so many amazing local musicians, and with our festival scene growing we are starting to get bigger international acts. I knew I had to check out some live music at some point this summer. Unfortunately, I didn’t have money to go to any of the big festivals. Which just FYI, most of them you can volunteer at and get free passes. (I just didn’t have the time to this year.) One of my best friends bought me tickets for “Phillips Backyard Weekender” to see one of our favorite bands USS (Ubiquitous Synergy Seeker). They have so much energy and really know how to work a crowd. One of the guys Human Kebab, always goes crowd surfing, does handstands, all sorts of crazy things and really hypes everyone up! Although USS is not local, (they’re from Toronto) their shows always feel like they are. They have a good relationship with our local radio station and show our city so much love, as we do them. They are probably my favorite band to see, I always have so much fun at their shows.  Another artist I got to see was Jesse Roper, who is local. He first started getting bigger while I was travelling so I hadn’t really heard of him before. But Man am I glad I went to his show! I love his style of music! It’s kind of a mash up of 60’s-70’s rock, blues and indie music. He has great stage presence and seems very down to earth.
  5. Celebrate Canada Day IN Canada. Since travelling I haven’t been in Canada for Canada Day in two years. One year I did absolutely nothing for Canada day, and the other I was at a giant reggae music festival. It wasn’t the same, but it was still some sort of gathering of people. This year I went to a friend’s house where we played beer pong during the day. Later on another friend of mine had invited me to watch the fireworks with her family on their boat. Which was really cool for me!! I love being on the water and it was nice because we weren’t surrounded by thousands of other people. For those of you who don’t know, Canada day is probably the biggest holiday in Canada. It’s one HUGE party. They block off downtown to cars and the streets are filled with thousands of people all dressed up in the mandatory red and white or Canadain attire. This year I found some really sweet Canadain flash tattoos. (Metallic temporary tattoos.) I had so much fun on Canada day, but the day after always sucks. This was the day that I decided I’m not going to drink anymore. The “fun” doesn’t outweigh the harm it does to me. You can still have fun without drinking. Although the social aspect is what makes it hard.

There was one other thing that I really wanted to do this summer which was taking my boyfriend tubing down Cowichan River. I can’t really say that it’s on my bucket list because I have done it many times before, but never with him. I always had so much fun going with a bunch of friends on a hot summer day and floating down the river. I heard that this year the water was really low due to having a dry summer and spring. I was also working a lot and when I wasn’t working, we were going on other adventures. I’m kinda bummed out we didn’t get to do it, but not really because we did end up doing heaps of other sweet things!

I’m sad to say that summer has come to an end, but it sure was a good one! I’m so grateful to have shared it with my love on this beautiful Island. Now that summer is over we have 9 months of rain to look forward to! Yay! Haha. But in all seriousness, I truly do love Autumn. Pumpkin pie, the leafs, sweaters, boots, warm drinks and cuddling up with a good book. Sounds like perfection to me!

2 thoughts on “Adventuring the: Summer Bucket List

Leave a Reply

